South America: Ecuador

About Ecuador

The "Republic of the Equator" was one of three countries that emerged from the collapse of Gran Colombia in 1830 (the others being Colombia and Venezuela). Between 1904 and 1942, Ecuador lost territories in a series of conflicts with its neighbors. A border war with Peru that flared in 1995 was resolved in 1999.

Vital Statistics
Capitol City: Quito
Population: 13,183,978 (July 2001 est.)
Percent below poverty: 50% (1999 est.)
Language: Spanish (official), Amerindian languages (especially Quechua)
Date of independence: 24 May 1822 (from Spain)
Form of government: republic
Title of Leader: President
Natural Resources: petroleum, fish, timber, hydropower
Environmental Issues: deforestation; soil erosion; desertification; water pollution; pollution from oil production wastes
Agricultural Products: bananas, coffee, cocoa, rice, potatoes, manioc (tapioca), plantains, sugarcane; cattle, sheep, pigs, beef, pork, dairy products; balsa wood; fish, shrimp
Imports: machinery and equipment, raw materials, fuels; consumer goods
Exports: petroleum, bananas, shrimp, coffee, cocoa, cut flowers, fish
Trading Partners: IMPORTS: US 30%, Colombia 13%, Venezuela 6%, Japan 5%, Venezuela 6%, Mexico 3% (1998)
EXPORTS: US 37%, Colombia 5%, Italy 5%, Chile 5%, Peru 4% (1999)


Ecuador Headlines


Warning: fopen( [function.fopen]: failed to open stream: HTTP request failed! HTTP/1.1 404 Not Found in /home/blue/public_html/country.php on line 291
Could not open for parsing!